Access the menu

Ravel's Dances

Creation 2021

avec Quatuor Debussy, Franck Tortiller (vibraphone)

— RAVEL Maurice
Quartet in F major opus 35 (1903)
The Ravel's dances
— RAVEL Maurice
Ma mère l’Oye, transcription for quartet

Affirming once again its interest in jazz, and strengthened by a long friendship, the Debussy String Quartet joins forces with the multi-hatted artist (vibraphonist, composer, conductor, arranger…) Franck Tortiller in a brand new program for a concert in homage to French music, and more particularly to one of the major figures of the 20th century, Maurice Ravel.


A performance rich in sonorities, navigating between jazz and classical, in which the harmonies of the strings intermingle with the metallic and enveloping notes of the vibraphone to the tune of the composer’s works. His famous String Quartet, his whimsical Ma Mère l’Oye, as well as transcriptions and other nods to the vibraphonist, which may vary from one concert to another.


The highlight of this new collaboration is the creation of Le Tombeau de Couperin, commissioned by the Ravel Days in Montfort L’Amaury and inspired by the work of the same name, composed especially by Franck Tortiller to be played with the Debussy Quartet.


A concert which, as with every meeting between these five musicians, is intended to be a crossbreed, drawing its fundamentals from various cultures: classical culture and jazz culture, French culture, improvised or written music…

Follow us!

Sign up for the french newsletter

Follow the Debussy Quartet